SCR Combined Authority
  You are here:   JAGU Home > SCR > Our Role
Our Role

The Sheffield City Region Combined Authority was established on 1st April 2014.

The nine local authorities that make up the Sheffield City Region (SCR) are:
- Barnsley
- Doncaster
- Rotherham
- Sheffield
- Bassetlaw
- Bolsover
- Chesterfield
- Derbyshire Dales
- North East Derbyshire
The 9 districts have a long history of collaboration, reflecting the natural economic geography of the region.
The Sheffield City Region Combined Authority brings together of two statutory bodies – the South Yorkshire Integrated Transport Authority (ITA) and the Economic Prosperity Board (EPB) in order to align political decision making around strategic Economic Development and Transport.
The Combined Authority works in partnership with the private sector-led Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) with the LEP Chair attending Combined Authority meetings on behalf of the LEP Board. This approach aims to 'hardwire' the partnership between the public and private sectors providing a solid, stable platform for future governance and decision making.